Saturday, April 26, 2014

Better late than never

Minnesota's most prominent taxpayer watchdog organization announced Friday some changes within its board, one in particular being long overdue (emphasis mine).

The Taxpayers League of Minnesota is proud to announce important changes to its board structure and governance.

The Board of Directors is being expanded to include :

Al DeKruif (Madison Lake), Chris Delaforest (Andover) and Lee Stoerzinger (Bayport). Brian Marum (Bayport) was also named to the board as Treasurer.

They join current board Chair Harold Hamilton and longtime board members Pat Alexander, John Esmay, Bruce Grachek and John Mathisrud.

The League is also announcing the departure from its Board of Directors members Philip Krinkie and Torin Kelly.

We thank them for their many years of service and their many contributions over the years.

The moving on of Krinkie was about two months overdue. After unauthorized use of TPL MN resources in February to enact what appeared to be a personal vendetta, Krinkie should have been reprimanded and/or removed from the board immediately. However, such a public upheaval likely would have been the death knell of his campaign for US House in MN CD6 (In my opinion, Krinkie was a non-factor even before the incident in question). That said, it appears there's been an ongoing process to allow Krinkie to save face by making it appear the split was amicable. I'm sorry but I have a difficult time believing that Krinkie's departure (along with that of his CD6 campaign manager Kelly) was of his own accord.

As luck would have it, TPL president Ted Lillie was already scheduled to be a guest on the Northern Alliance Radio network today at 2:33 pm. I will definitely broach the subject with him during his appearance.


No comments: